Sharing Opportunities and Folders

Prev Next

Sharing Opportunities

Access levels

A user can be granted access to an opportunity at three different levels: view only, edit, and owner.

View only access allows the user to view the opportunity, but not to edit the opportunity or share the opportunity with another user.  Edit access allows the user to view, edit, and share the opportunity with another user.  

Owner is the highest level of access.  There is one owner per opportunity.  The owner has all of the editor’s permissions, and in addition, the owner approves or denies access requests.

Because opportunities are guaranteed to have one owner, any user other than the owner can remove their own access from the opportunity.  Be careful not to do this accidentally.

The owner can reassign ownership to another user.

Default Sharing

Default opportunity sharing can be configured for the organization in the Settings → Sharing tab.  This allows users with the relevant permissions to set organization-wide default values for new opportunities.

For new opportunities created using the “new opportunity” button, this setting configures the default shown in the new opportunity wizard (which can always be changed by the user creating the opportunity).

For new opportunities that are created automatically (for example, via a salesforce integration configured to import new opportunities automatically), the opportunity is created and shared with this setting.

Access requests

Users who attempt to visit an opportunity they cannot access can request access from the owner.  The owner will receive a notification and can approve or deny the access request.

Sharing Folders and Files

Folders can be shared using the same sharing model as opportunities, except:

  • folders do not have an owner

  • you cannot request access to a folder

  • you cannot remove your own access to a folder; instead, another user must remove your own access

If you use Sharepoint permission sync, you cannot manually share those folders.